Retiring a topic makes it invisible for everyone. It doesn't appear in the topic list on the conference's page. It's like a [Forget] that affects everyone.
As with [Forget], users can see retired topics via the [Forgotten/Retired] command.
Only the conference host or the user who started the topic may retire it. To undo a retire, use the [Unretire] command.